5/16/17 Show Notes ft. Serena Michel

This week’s show features the poetry of Serena Michel and a musical playlist that she’s curated to go with her work.

BIO

My name is Serena Michel (pronounced Michele; it’s French), and I am a junior at UH Mānoa. My majors are Pacific Islands Studies and English, with a focus in creative writing. I am originally from Los Angeles, California, but have lived in Hawaii for eight years. My ancestral roots are in the Dominican Republic, Haiti, the Philippines, and different European countries. The ethnic backgrounds that I most identify with are my Dominican and Haitian roots. My specialty is in fiction, but I also write poetry. My work is inspired by psalms in the Bible, C.S. Lewis, Maya Angelou, and Junot Díaz. My own work seeks to deconstruct the ideologies of blackness in the Caribbean and in the Pacific, as well as in diasporic communities that peoples from these regions migrate to, and how we can come to love and embrace blackness–to “dream black love.” You can connect with more of my work via my WordPress blog at michelserenablog.wordpress.org or can contact me at michel6@hawaii.edu. I’d love to hear from you!

PLAYLIST

  1. SONG: “Virgencita” by Celia Cruz & Johnny Pacheco 
  2. POEM: “Between the Lines of My Life” 
  3. SONG: “La Vida Es Un Carnaval” by Celia Cruz 
  4. SONG: “Herencia Africana (Branko Remix)” by Celia Cruz, La Sonora Mantacera, Branko
  5. POEM: “Embracing Forgotten Black Roots”
  6. SONG: “Virgencita (Happy Colors Remix)” by Celia Cruz, Johnny Pacheco, and Happy Colors 

FULL EPISODE

Leave a Reply

